How To Reach C&ENACS Membership Number


September 16, 2002
Volume 80, Number 37
CENEAR 80 37 pp. 43-58
ISSN 0009-2347


Three candidates will vie for the office of president-elect of the American Chemical Society for 2003 in this fall's election. They are Charles P. Casey, Alvin L. Kwiram, and petition candidate E. Ann Nalley. All three have had distinguished careers in academia. Casey is the Homer B. Adkins Professor of Chemistry at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Kwiram is a professor of chemistry and vice-provost for research at the University of Washington. Nalley is professor of chemistry at Cameron University, Lawton, Okla. The successful candidate will serve as ACS president in 2004 and as a member of the ACS Board of Directors from 2003 to 2005.

Candidates for director of District III are incumbent Maureen G. Chan and Madeleine M. Joullie. District III consists of members assigned to or residing in local sections with headquarters in Delaware, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania (except the Central Pennsylvania, Erie, Lehigh Valley, Penn-York, Pittsburgh, and Susquehanna Valley Sections), Maryland (except the Western Maryland Section), and the District of Columbia.

District VI will also be holding elections for director. Candidates for director are Howard M. Peters, Stanley H. Pine, and Stephen A. Rodemeyer. District VI consists of members assigned to or residing in local sections with headquarters in Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming, as well as those members with addresses in Arizona, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington; in the provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan; and in the extra-provincial territories of Canada who are not assigned to local sections.

Incumbents James D. Burke and C. Gordon McCarty will face Daryle H. Busch and Merle I. Eiss to fill two director-at-large openings. The sucessful candidates for the director positions will serve three-year terms beginning next year.

All members of ACS will receive ballots enabling them to vote for the president-elect. Only members with mailing addresses in Districts III and VI will receive ballots to vote for director from those districts. Only voting councilors will receive ballots for the director-at-large elections.

All ballots will be mailed on Sept. 30. The deadline for return of marked ballots to the ACS executive director is close of business on Friday, Nov. 15.

Two questions were suggested to the candidates as a framework for their statements: What would you hope to accomplish as president (or director) of ACS? What specific changes, if any, in the ACS organization or programs would you propose to achieve your goals? Candidates' views will soon be posted on the Web at

Note: Candidates' statements (250K) are available in Adobe PDF format.


Chemical & Engineering News
Copyright © 2002 American Chemical Society

E-mail this article to a friend
Print this article
[PDF Format]
E-mail the editor

Home | Table of Contents | Today's Headlines | Business | Government & Policy | Science & Technology | C&EN Classifieds
About C&EN | How To Reach Us | How to Advertise | Editorial Calendar | Email Webmaster

Chemical & Engineering News
Copyright © 2002 American Chemical Society. All rights reserved.
• (202) 872-4600 • (800) 227-5558

CASChemPortChemCenterPubs Page