Skip to Main Content

Latest News

July 24, 2006
Volume 84, Number 30
p. 9

ACS Elections

Four-Way Race For 2007 President-Elect

Linda Raber

Two petition candidates have thrown their hats into the ring in hopes of becoming ACS president-elect for 2007. The slate, now final, consists of four candidates. The candidates who will be on the ballot by petition are Yorke E. Rhodes, New York University (retired), and James A. Walsh, John Carroll University (retired).The candidates chosen by the ACS Council from a field of four submitted by the Committee on Nominations & Elections are Bruce E. Bursten, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, and Bassam Z. Shakhashiri, University of Wisconsin, Madison.

Thomas R. Gilbert, Northeastern University, Boston, and incumbent Anne T. O'Brien, Wyeth-Ayerst Research (retired), will vie for a seat on the board from District I. John E. Adams, University of Missouri, Columbia, and incumbent Judith L. Benham, 3M Co., will run for a seat from District V.

Candidates for three director-at-large spots are William H. (Jack) Breazeale Jr., Francis Marion University, Florence, S.C. (retired); incumbent Dennis Chamot, National Research Council, Washington, D.C.; Peter K. Dorhout, Colorado State University, Fort Collins; Paul R. Jones, University of North Texas, Denton; Valerie J. Kuck, Seton Hall University, South Orange, N.J.; Dorothy J. Phillips, Waters Corp., Milford, Mass.; and Marinda Li Wu, Science is Fun! Co., Orinda, Calif. (by petition).

Chemical & Engineering News
ISSN 0009-2347
Copyright © 2010 American Chemical Society