How To Reach C&ENACS Membership Number


December 16, 2002
Volume 80, Number 50
CENEAR 80 50 p. 12
ISSN 0009-2347


Approves 2003 budget, designates two landmarks, converts catalysis award


At its meeting on Dec. 8 in Arlington, Va., the ACS Board of Directors approved a 2003 budget with revenues of $403 million and expenses of $404 million, designated two new National Historic Chemical Landmarks, and established the Gabor A. Somorjai Award for Creative Research in Catalysis.

The board will be led for the third year in a row by Nina I. McClelland, president of Nina I. McClelland LLC. The board elected Stanley C. Israel, dean of science at Southwest Texas State University, San Marcos, to the board executive committee for a two-year term, and E. Ann Nalley, a chemistry professor at Cameron University, Lawton, Okla., for a one-year term. Others on the executive committee include the chair of the board, members of the ACS presidential succession, ACS Executive Director John K Crum, and James D. Burke, who was previously elected to a two-year term.

The board grappled with difficult economic circumstances for the second year in a row. The society anticipates ending 2002 with a net deficit of $1.9 million in its core programs, just under the budgeted deficit of $2 million. Chemical Abstracts Service and the two ACS national meetings turned in better-than-budgeted performances, and that, coupled with significant cost reductions in society programs, offset to some extent a disappointing year for both advertising and investment revenues.

The board voted funding of $500,000 for the ACS Matching Gift Fund and $96,460 to support the recommendations of the Task Force on Minorities in Academe. The board also accepted the recommendation of the Board Task Force on Issues Relating to the Divisions & Local Sections Funding Petition to phase in over four years a temporary funding mechanism, should the petition be adopted.

Two new National Historic Chemical Landmarks will be recognized in 2003—one at GrafTech International, Parma, Ohio, for the discovery and development of high-performance carbon fibers, and the other at Research Triangle Institute, Research Triangle Park, N.C., for the discovery of two chemotherapeutic agents, camptothecin and paclitaxel.

And the board converted the ACS Award for Creative Research in Homogeneous or Heterogeneous Catalysis to the endowed Gabor A. Somorjai Award for Creative Research in Catalysis. The award, which had been supported by Shell Oil Foundation, is now supported by the Gabor A. Somorjai Endowment Fund.


Chemical & Engineering News
Copyright © 2002 American Chemical Society

E-mail this article to a friend
Print this article
E-mail the editor

Home | Table of Contents | Today's Headlines | Business | Government & Policy | Science & Technology | C&EN Classifieds
About C&EN | How To Reach Us | How to Advertise | Editorial Calendar | Email Webmaster

Chemical & Engineering News
Copyright © 2002 American Chemical Society. All rights reserved.
• (202) 872-4600 • (800) 227-5558

CASChemPortChemCenterPubs Page