How To Reach C&ENACS Membership Number


November 24, 2003
Volume 81, Number 47
CENEAR 81 47 p. 8
ISSN 0009-2347


Occidental Chemical executive hails win as the honor of his career


illiam F. Carroll Jr., vice president of chlorovinyl issues at Occidental Chemical Corp., Dallas, is 2004 ACS president-elect. With 12,265 votes, he defeated Michael E. Strem, president of Strem Chemicals, Newburyport, Mass., who received 10,381 votes. Carroll will serve as ACS president in 2005 and as a member of the society's board of directors from 2004 to 2006.

"This is the honor of a career," Carroll tells C&EN. "As president, I will do my best to reintroduce the benefits of chemistry to a public, and in many cases to a government, that has forgotten them in the light of other distractions."

Also elected were two directors-at-large and two district directors; they will serve on the ACS Board from 2004 to 2006. The winners in the at-large elections, who are elected by voting members of the ACS Council, are incumbent Dennis Chamot, associate executive director at the National Research Council, Washington, D.C., with 247 votes, and Nancy B. Jackson, technical manager at Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, with 187 votes. Incumbent James P. Shoffner, retired adjunct professor of science at Columbia College, Chicago, lost his seat on the board by a slim margin with 178 votes. Peter C. Jurs, professor of chemistry at Pennsylvania State University, received 109 votes.

Incumbent Anne T. O'Brien, Wyeth Ayerst Research (retired), will retain her seat on the board as District I director. She prevailed in a three-way election that included Ronald D. Archer, professor of chemistry at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, and Dorothy J. Phillips, director of new business development at Waters Corp., Milford, Mass.

In three-way races, voters are asked to indicate first- and second-choice votes. In accordance with ACS bylaws, because no candidate had a simple majority of first-choice votes, the candidate with the fewest first-choice votes (Phillips) was eliminated. Then second-choice votes were taken into account in determining the winner. Thus, in this election, O'Brien received a total of 1,798 votes and Archer received 1,458 total votes.

In District V, Judith L. Benham, retired business director of 3M's Industrial Services & Solutions Division, St. Paul, Minn., will serve as director. Benham received 1,816 votes; incumbent E. Ann Nalley, professor of chemistry at Cameron University, Lawton, Okla., received 1,514 votes.

8147notw1_benham 8147notw1_chamot 8147notw1_jackson 8147notw1_obrien
Benham Chamot Jackson O'Brien


Chemical & Engineering News
Copyright © 2003 American Chemical Society

Related Story
[C&EN, Sept. 15, 2003]

E-mail this article to a friend
Print this article
E-mail the editor

Home | Table of Contents | Today's Headlines | Business | Government & Policy | Science & Technology | C&EN Classifieds
About C&EN | How To Reach Us | How to Advertise | Editorial Calendar | Email Webmaster

Chemical & Engineering News
Copyright © 2003 American Chemical Society. All rights reserved.
• (202) 872-4600 • (800) 227-5558

CASChemPortChemCenterPubs Page