[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Skip to Main Content

Latest News

Advertise Here
October 25, 2010
Volume 88, Number 43
p. 10
Article Appeared Online October 18, 2010

President Honors Scientists And Engineers

Awards: Winners of the National Medals of Science and of Technology & Innovation are chosen

David J. Hanson

Bern Harrison/Bayer Healthcare
PARTNERS Undated photograph of Helen and Alfred Free at work in Miles Laboratories, in Elkhart, Ind.
  • Print this article
  • Email the editor

Latest News

October 28, 2011

Speedy Homemade-Explosive Detector

Forensic Chemistry: A new method could increase the number of explosives detected by airport screeners.

Solar Panel Makers Cry Foul

Trade: U.S. companies complain of market dumping by China.

Novartis To Cut 2,000 Jobs

Layoffs follow similar moves by Amgen, AstraZeneca.

Nations Break Impasse On Waste

Environment: Ban to halt export of hazardous waste to developing world.

New Leader For Lawrence Livermore

Penrose (Parney) Albright will direct DOE national lab.

Hair Reveals Source Of People's Exposure To Mercury

Toxic Exposure: Mercury isotopes in human hair illuminate dietary and industrial sources.

Why The Long Fat?

Cancer Biochemistry: Mass spectrometry follows the metabolism of very long fatty acids in cancer cells.

Text Size A A

President Barack Obama has named 10 people as winners of the National Medal of Science and three people and one team as winners of the National Medal of Technology & Innovation for 2010. The medals are the highest honor bestowed on scientists and engineers by the U.S. government. The recipients will receive their medals at a White House ceremony later this year.

The annual awards are administered by the White House and the National Science Foundation and the nominees are selected by a committee of distinguished presidential appointees.

"The extraordinary accomplishments of these scientists, engineers, and inventors are a testament to American industry and ingenuity," Obama said in announcing the awards. "It is my tremendous pleasure to honor them for their important contributions."

Included in the following list of this year's award recipients are a number of chemists and chemical engineers. Among them is Helen M. Free, who served as president of ACS in 1993 and whose work on dip-and-read diagnostic strips was named a National Historic Chemical Landmark this year.

National Medal of Science

Yakir Aharonov, Chapman University; Stephen J. Benkovic, Pennsylvania State University; Esther M. Conwell, University of Rochester; Marye Anne Fox, University of California San Diego; Susan L. Lindquist, Whitehead Institute, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Mortimer Mishkin, National Institutes of Health; David B. Mumford, Brown University; Stanley B. Prusiner, University of California San Francisco; Warren M. Washington, National Center for Atmospheric Research; Amnon Yariv, California Institute of Technology

National Medal of Technology and Innovation

Harry W. Coover, Eastman Chemical Company; Helen M. Free, Miles Laboratories; Steven J. Sasson, Eastman Kodak Company

Federico Faggin, Marcian E. Hoff Jr., Stanley Mazor; Intel Corporation

ACS Publications: President Barack Obama awards chemists National Medal of Technology and Innovation

View the Full ACS Press Release >>>

View announcement from White House >>>

View announcement from National Science & Technology Medals organization >>>

Chemical & Engineering News
ISSN 0009-2347
Copyright © 2011 American Chemical Society
  • Print this article
  • Email the editor

Services & Tools

ACS Resources

ACS is the leading employment source for recruiting scientific professionals. ACS Careers and C&EN Classifieds provide employers direct access to scientific talent both in print and online. Jobseekers | Employers

» Join ACS

Join more than 161,000 professionals in the chemical sciences world-wide, as a member of the American Chemical Society.
» Join Now!