How To Reach C&ENACS Membership Number


December 15, 2003
Volume 81, Number 50
CENEAR 81 50 p. 8
ISSN 0009-2347


Directors approve budget, select chair, designate landmarks



James D. Burke, director-at-largea

Charles P. Casey, presidenta
William F. Carroll Jr., president-electa
Elsa Reichmanis, immediate past-presidenta
Madeleine Jacobs, executive directora

Anne T. O'Brien, District I
Diane Grob Schmidta,b, District II
Madeleine M. Joullie, District III
Paul R. Jones, District IV
Judith L. Benham, District V
Stanley H. Pine, District VI

Dennis Chamota
Nancy B. Jackson
C. Gordon McCartya
Nina I. McClelland

Executive committee member. b Two-year term on the executive committee. c Stanley C. Israel's death has left a vacancy on the board; a special election for director-at-large is planned for February 2004.
At its meeting Dec. 5–7 in Arlington, Va., the American Chemical Society Board of Directors approved a 2004 budget with revenues of $420 million and expenses of $419 million, elected James D. Burke chair, and designated three new National Historic Chemical Landmarks.

The board will be chaired in 2004 by Burke, an at-large director serving his second term on the board. Burke, who is retired from Rohm and Haas, succeeds Nina I. McClelland. McClelland had completed three one-year terms as chair, the maximum allowed by ACS Board regulations.

The board also elected Diane Grob Schmidt, section head of research and development at Procter & Gamble, to the board executive committee for a two-year term, and Dennis Chamot, associate executive director of the Division on Engineering & Physical Sciences at the National Research Council, for a one-year term. The board elected C. Gordon McCarty, adjunct professor at the University of South Carolina, Beaufort, to serve the remaining year of Stanley C. Israel's two-year term on the executive committee. Israel died suddenly on Nov. 2 (C&EN, Nov. 10, page 13).

ACS is expected to end 2003 with a net deficit of $847,000, which is $28,000 favorable to the approved budget, which Budget & Finance Committee Chair Burke calls "a remarkable achievement, given the adverse business climate the society faced during the year." Chemical Abstracts Service completed one of its best years ever and will provide a net contribution to ACS significantly greater than anticipated in the approved budget. The Publications Division will slightly exceed its net contribution target, largely as a result of strong revenue growth in electronic subscriptions. Careful control of costs also contributed to the financial performance of ACS in 2003.

For 2004, the board voted funding of $500,000 for the ACS Matching Gift Fund. The board established a new medal, the Stanley C. Israel Regional Award for Advancing Diversity in the Chemical Sciences, which will first be presented in 2005.

The board also established new National Historic Chemical Landmarks recognizing the development of the Beckman pH meter at California Institute of Technology; the development of durable press cotton fabric at the Southern Regional Research Center, New Orleans; and the work of Carl and Gerty Cori on the biochemical process by which the body converts glucose to glycogen and back again at Washington University, St. Louis.

The board approved the reappointment of the editors of four ACS journals: Ann-Christine Albertsson at Biomacromolecules, Paul Alivisatos at Nano Letters, Philip S. Portoghese at Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, and Robin D. Rogers at the Journal of Crystal Growth & Design.


Chemical & Engineering News
Copyright © 2003 American Chemical Society

Related Story
[C&EN, Nov. 10, 2003]
E-mail this article to a friend
Print this article
E-mail the editor

Home | Table of Contents | Today's Headlines | Business | Government & Policy | Science & Technology | C&EN Classifieds
About C&EN | How To Reach Us | How to Advertise | Editorial Calendar | Email Webmaster

Chemical & Engineering News
Copyright © 2003 American Chemical Society. All rights reserved.
• (202) 872-4600 • (800) 227-5558

CASChemPortChemCenterPubs Page