Skip to Main Content

Meet C&EN's Advisers

Chemical & Engineering News has had an advisory board since at least 1939 (Jan. 10, 1939, was the first issue in which C&EN listed an advisory board). Over the decades, this board of distinguished people has expanded, reflecting growth in the scope and diversity of both the chemical enterprise and C&EN's readership, which now numbers 160,000 people worldwide. C&EN's current advisory board is composed of 29 men and women from industry, academia, government, and organizations in the nonprofit world. Advisers serve a three-year term and meet with C&EN staff to provide thoughtful advice and suggestions; they also bring noteworthy developments to the attention of C&EN staff. Following are the current members of C&EN's advisory board.

  • Magid Abou-Gharbia
    Dr. Magid Abou-Gharbia
    Senior Vice President
    Wyeth Ayerst Research
    Princeton, New Jersey
  • Photo not available at present.
    Dr. Kim K. Balridge

    Zurich, Switzerland
  • David N. Beratan
    David N. Beratan
    Department Of Chemistry
    Duke University
    Durham, North Carolina
  • Dr. Jim Birnie
    Dr. Jim Birnie

    Custom Synthesis Business
    Sumitomo Chemical Belgium
    Machelen, Belgium
  • Photo not available at present.
    Lukas Braunschweiler

    Dionex Corporation
    Sunnyvale, California
  • Joseph C. Breunig
    Joseph C. Breunig

    President NAFTA Chemicals, Plastics and Performance Products
    BASF Corporation
    Florham Park, N.J.
  • Gary S. Calabrese
    Dr. Gary S. Calabrese
    Vice President and Portfolio Director, New Business Development
    Corning Inc.
    Corning, New York
  • Photo not available at present.
    Dr. David Clary
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
  • Photo not available at present.
    Dr. Rita R. Colwell
    University Of Maryland
    College Park, Maryland
  • E. J. Corey
    E. J. Corey
    Dept. of Chemistry & Chemical Biology
    Harvard University
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
  • Marijn E. Dekkers
    Dr. Marijn E. Dekkers
    President and Chief Executive Officer
    Thermo Electron Corporation
    Waltham, Massachusetts
  • Photo not available at present.
    Dr. Daryl W. Ditz
    Senior Policy Advisory, Chemical Program
    Center for International Environmental Law
    Washington, DC
  • Michael P. Doyle
    Dr. Michael P. Doyle
    Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
    University of Maryland
    College Park, Maryland
  • Arthur B. Ellis
    Arthur B. Ellis
    Vice Chancellor for Research
    University of California, San Diego
    LaJolla, California
  • Robin L. Garrell
    Dr. Robin L. Garrell
    Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
    University of California,
    Los Angeles
    Los Angeles, California
  • James R. Heath
    James R. Heath
    Department of Chemistry
    California Institute of Technology
    Pasadena, California
  • Rebecca C. Hoye
    Rebecca C. Hoye
    Department of Chemistry
    Macalester College
    St. Paul, Minnesota
  • Dr. Nancy B. Jackson
    Dr. Nancy B. Jackson
    Manager, International Chemical Threat Reduction
    Sandia National Laboratories
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Harry Kroto
    Harry Kroto
    Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
    Florida State University
    Tallahassee, Florida
  • Photo not available at present.
    Roger Laforce, Ph.D.ETH
    General Manager
    M&S, R&D, Acq/Logistics
    F.I.S. Fabbrica Italiana Sintetici S.p.A.
    Milano, Italy
  • Aslam Malik
    Aslam Malik

    President, Ampac Fine Chemicals
    Rancho Cordova, California
  • Photo not available at present.
    Dr. Andrew D. Maynard
    Chief Science Advisor
    Project On Emerginv Nanotechnology
    Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars
    Washington, DC
  • Dr. Eli Pearce
    Dr. Eli Pearce
    Former ACS president
    Polytechnic University,
    Brooklyn, New York
  • Marquita M. Qualls
    Dr. Marquita M. Qualls
    Entropia Consulting Group
    West Chester, Pennsylvania
    • Sara J. Risch
      Sara J. Risch, Ph.D.
      East Lansing, Michigan
    • Alan Shaw
      Dr. Alan Shaw
      President and Chief
      Executive Officer, Codexis
      Redwood City, California

    • Dr. Kevan M. Shokat
      Dr. Kevan M. Shokat

      Department of Molecular Pharm.
      University of California
      San Francisco, California

    • Photo not available at present.
      Rakesh S. Sikand

      Division Manager
      FMC Lithium
      Charlotte, North Carolina

    • Photo not available at present.
      Dr. Thomas R. Tritton

      Chemical Heritage Foundation
      Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    • Dr. Pratibha Varma-Nelson
      Dr. Pratibha Varma-Nelson

      Professor Of Chemistry
      Department of Chemistry
      and Chemical Biology Executive Director for
      Center for Teaching and Learning Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

    • Photo not available at present.
      Dr. Paul A. Wender

      Department of Chemistry
      Stanford University
      Stanford, California
    • George M. Whitesides
      George M. Whitesides
      2007 Priestley Medalist
      Department Of Chemistry
      and Chemical Biology
      Harvard University
      Cambridge, Massachusetts
    • Frank Wicks
      Frank Wicks
      St. Louis, Missouri
This page last updated November 6, 2008